On May 2, 2018, a new paid sick leave law was passed mandating that employers provide every employee paid sick leave. This law went into effect October 29, 2018, which is when employees can begin earning their paid sick leave hours. Every employee must be given one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours they work, and must be able to save up at least 40 hours of paid sick time per year. Here is what the law covers:
Additional Resources on New Paid Sick Leave Laws:
NJGCA Paid Sick Leave Memo: What You Need To Know: Memo from NJGCA detailing what members need to know in order to be in compliance with the new paid sick leave law.
Paid Sick Leave Regulations (September 13, 2018): NJDOL issued proposed regulations for implementation of PSL and addresses many employer questions raised about the new laws.
New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Notice of Employee Rights: This document must be given to every current employee by November 29, 2018 as well as every employee hired after this date, and must be printed and displayed at your business.
New Jersey Department of Labor Paid Sick Leave FAQs: This document answers several questions around the new paid sick leave law in detail; including its use, carryover and payout, retaliation, and record keeping.
Department of Labor & Workforce Development – Earned Sick Leave is the Law in New Jersey – This website from the DOL contains useful information for employees and employers on how the law works as well as printable documents to display in your office.